Tag Archives: cold cases

Dec, 7, 2006: Note to "Dahlia Avenger" Fans

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. Here’s a publicity still of “Maddy” Comfort from “Kiss Me Deadly” for sale on EBay. Her name is also spelled “Mattie” and “Mady.” Comfort is referred to in the Los Angeles County … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, 2006, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Found on EBay, Homicide, LAPD, Streetcars | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Black Dahlia: “I Am the Night” and Dr. George Hodel, Who Never Killed Anyone

Sorry, Verve magazine, Dr. George Hodel was NOT known “to have committed the murder of the Black Dahlia.” In fact, he was not known to have killed anybody.. Also, he wasn’t a “Hollywood gynaecologist” infamous or otherwise.

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Film, Hollywood | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Nov. 15, 1981: Still Unsolved — Aspiring Screenwriter Killed in Hit-Run Staged to Look Like Rape

  Note: This is an encore post from 2005 and originally appeared on the 1947project. Sue was 29, tall, blond and athletic with dimples every time she smiled—her big, clunky glasses the only thing that might betray a degree in … Continue reading

Posted in 1981, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Film, Hollywood, Sports, Transportation | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

Black Dahlia: 1949 Letter Proves Nothing About Dr. George Hodel

Sorry, no. If you are familiar with Steve Hodel’s elevator pitch (“retired LAPD homicide cop discovers evil genius dad was maniacal serial killer”) you can skip all of this in the South Pasadenan. It’s more of the same old exaggerated … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, LAPD | Tagged , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Oct. 5, 1947: Santa Monica Police Link Killing of Teenage Girl to Earlier Stabbing of Teenage Girl

Note: This is an encore post from 2005 and originally appeared on the 1947project. It was a response to Kim Cooper’s post on the stabbings of Lillian Dominguez and Barbara Jean Morse. I’m really glad you picked this one, Kim, … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Homicide | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Feb. 29, 1932: Body Found in Closet of Vacant Home

Note: This is an encore post from 2005 and originally appeared on the 1947project. Nailed up in the closet of an unoccupied house at 2318 Pontius Ave.., West Los Angeles, the body of Tomas Moreno, 43-year-old Japanese, was discovered yesterday … Continue reading

Posted in 1932, Cold Cases, Comics, Crime and Courts, Homicide | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Brian De Palma’s ‘The Black Dahlia’

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. Further note: Rotten Tomatoes, gives this film 32% on the Tomatometer. “The Black Dahlia,” directed by Brian De Palma, screenplay by Josh Friedman based on the novel by James Ellroy. Starring Josh … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Film, Hollywood, Homicide, LAPD, Zoot Suit | Tagged , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Black Dahlia: EBay Avenger

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. OK, I’ve had my fun with Ellroy’s copies of the “Avenger” books. The hardback stands at $38 and the paperback at $29. Despite my minimum bids, there is always the risk that … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Homicide, LAPD, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Aug. 29, 1947: Headless Skeleton Found in Burlap Sack in Chantry Flats

Note: This is an encore post from 2005 and originally appeared on the 1947project. The discovery by camper John Beener of 3743 E. 7th St. only became more puzzling. Investigation revealed that the deceased, an elderly woman about 5-foot-2, had … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Aug. 11, 1947: Two Men Found Shot to Death in Bizarre Mystery

Note: This is an encore post from 2005 and originally appeared on the 1947project. Someone found them shot to death on the floor of the Portal Motel at 2775 N. Cahuenga: two men completely clothed except for their shoes, each … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Cold Cases, Homicide, LAPD | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Black Dahlia: Who Is This Man?

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. I recently obtained an original copy of The Times’ March 28, 1971, story “Farewell, My Black Dahlia,” which includes the account of the “Boy on the Bicycle.” Here’s a color picture of … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Another Good Story Ruined, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Donald Wolfe, Homicide, LAPD | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

Black Dahlia: A Note to Fans of Piu Eatwell’s ‘Black Dahlia, Red Rose’

Dear fans of Piu Eatwell’s “Black Dahlia, Red Rose” (I know there’s at least a few of you because you write to me): Leslie Dillon was absolutely, positively in San Francisco when Elizabeth Short was killed. Nothing else matters. Not … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Black Dahlia: ‘We Got Our Asses Handed to Us’

Here’s a follow-up on Episode 5 of “It Was Him.” Wayne Wolfe Jr. sums up my interview on John Cameron’s theory about Ed Edwards and the Black Dahlia case.

Posted in 1947, 2018, Black Dahlia, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Television | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Black Dahlia: ‘It Was Him’ and Edward Wayne Edwards — No Way

Before you watch Episode 5 of “It Was Him,” (airing Monday at 9 p.m. on Paramount Net), which attempts to link Edward Wayne Edwards to the Black Dahlia case… Keep in mind: Edward Wayne Edwards was born June 14, 1933. … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, 2018, Black Dahlia, Cold Cases, Coming Attractions, Crime and Courts, Homicide, Television | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Black Dahlia: Blogging ‘Black Dahlia Files’ Part 89 — The Two-Minute Executive Summary

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. From Feb. 3, 2006, to April 28, 2006, I devoted a daily blog to Donald H. Wolfe’s “The Black Dahlia Files: The Mob, the Mogul and the Murder That Transfixed Los Angeles.” … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, 2006, Another Good Story Ruined, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Donald Wolfe, History, Hollywood, Homicide, LAPD | Tagged , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Black Dahlia: Blogging ‘Black Dahlia Files’ Part 88 — Request Line XXII

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. I have ceased blogging in real time as I read Donald H. Wolfe’s “The Black Dahlia Files: The Mob, the Mogul and the Murder That Transfixed Los Angeles.” Wolfe uses the “Laura” … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Another Good Story Ruined, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Donald Wolfe, History, Hollywood, Homicide, LAPD | Tagged , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Black Dahlia: Blogging ‘Black Dahlia Files’ Part 87 — Request Line XXI

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. I have ceased blogging in real time as I read Donald H. Wolfe’s “The Black Dahlia Files: The Mob, the Mogul and the Murder That Transfixed Los Angeles.” Wolfe uses the “Laura” … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Another Good Story Ruined, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Donald Wolfe, History, Hollywood, Homicide, LAPD | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Black Dahlia: Blogging ‘Black Dahlia Files’ Part 86 — Request Line XX

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. I have ceased blogging in real time as I read Donald H. Wolfe’s “The Black Dahlia Files: The Mob, the Mogul and the Murder That Transfixed Los Angeles.” Wolfe uses the “Laura” … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Another Good Story Ruined, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Donald Wolfe, History, Hollywood, Homicide, LAPD | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Black Dahlia: Blogging ‘Black Dahlia Files’ Part 85 — Request Line XIX

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. I have ceased blogging in real time as I read Donald H. Wolfe’s “The Black Dahlia Files: The Mob, the Mogul and the Murder That Transfixed Los Angeles.” Wolfe uses the “Laura” … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Another Good Story Ruined, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Donald Wolfe, History, Hollywood, Homicide, LAPD | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Black Dahlia: Blogging ‘Black Dahlia Files’ Part 84 — Request Line XVIII

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. I have ceased blogging in real time as I read Donald H. Wolfe’s “The Black Dahlia Files: The Mob, the Mogul and the Murder That Transfixed Los Angeles.” Wolfe uses the “Laura” … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Another Good Story Ruined, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Donald Wolfe, History, Hollywood, Homicide, LAPD | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment