Category Archives: Black Dahlia

May 26, 1907: Inventor of Miracle ‘Hot Air Engine’ Lives Lavishly, Then Vanishes

Only a few months before, William R. Leroy of Pennsylvania was a struggling inventor, moonlighting as a stevedore in Santa Monica and in the Fullerton oilfields. Walking to work because even the lowly streetcar fare was a luxury, Leroy labored … Continue reading

Posted in Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, LAPD, Parks, Streetcars | Leave a comment

May 25, 1907: From the Recording Horn

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. May 25, 1907 Los Angeles Sold on the installment plan, $1 a week with the purchase of six records at 60 cents each, the Victor Talking Machines offered performances by Caruso, Melba … Continue reading

Posted in 1907, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Music, Streetcars | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

May 24, 1907: LAPD Motorcycle Officers Charge Driver and Passengers With Speeding

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. May 24, 1907 Los Angeles Otis Skinner, the actor starring in “The Duel” at the Mason Opera House,” is under arrest because of a curious regulation in which passengers of a speeding … Continue reading

Posted in 1907, Black Dahlia, LAPD, Streetcars, Theaters, Transportation | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Trash

  Note: This is an encore post from 2006.

Posted in Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, LAPD, Streetcars | Leave a comment

May 21, 1907: J.G. Fleenor ‘Barefoot Burglar’ Talks!

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. In a jailhouse interview before he was taken to San Quentin, James G. Fleenor, the barefoot burglar, set the record straight on his escapes, his relationship with a white woman and how … Continue reading

Posted in 1907, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Crime and Courts, LAPD, Real Estate, Streetcars | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

May 20, 1907: James G. Fleenor, L.A.’s ‘Barefoot Burglar,’ Recaptured!

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. May 20, 1907 Los Angeles Night jailer O.L. Gilpin thought the man in the drunk tank looked familiar—and indeed he was. Despite passing himself off as George Thompson, it was our old … Continue reading

Posted in 1907, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, LAPD, Streetcars | 1 Comment

Black Dahlia: A Note to Fans of Piu Eatwell’s ‘Black Dahlia, Red Rose’

Dear fans of Piu Eatwell’s “Black Dahlia, Red Rose” (I know there’s at least a few of you because you write to me): Leslie Dillon was absolutely, positively in San Francisco when Elizabeth Short was killed. Nothing else matters. Not … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

May 17, 1907: Wife-Beating, Speeding Drivers and a Slashed Burro

May 17, 1907 Los Angeles Note: This is an encore post from 2006. The Le Canns continued their spat in court after Mrs. Le Cann showed Judge Chambers a piece of skin she said was torn from her lip when … Continue reading

Posted in 1907, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, LAPD, Streetcars | Leave a comment

Black Dahlia: ‘We Got Our Asses Handed to Us’

Here’s a follow-up on Episode 5 of “It Was Him.” Wayne Wolfe Jr. sums up my interview on John Cameron’s theory about Ed Edwards and the Black Dahlia case.

Posted in 1947, 2018, Black Dahlia, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Television | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Mason Opera House

Note: This is an encore post from 2006.

Posted in Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, LAPD, Streetcars | Leave a comment

Black Dahlia: ‘It Was Him’ and Edward Wayne Edwards — No Way

Before you watch Episode 5 of “It Was Him,” (airing Monday at 9 p.m. on Paramount Net), which attempts to link Edward Wayne Edwards to the Black Dahlia case… Keep in mind: Edward Wayne Edwards was born June 14, 1933. … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, 2018, Black Dahlia, Cold Cases, Coming Attractions, Crime and Courts, Homicide, Television | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

May 12, 1947: Laura Trelstad Raped, Strangled, Left in Long Beach Oil Field

Note: This is one of my first posts – as a comment – on the 1947Project. An encore from 2005. This is a reply to Mother of Three Choked to Death; Body Flung in Signal Hill Oil Field. This is, … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Cold Cases, Homicide, LAPD | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

May 10, 1907: A Murderous Sweep

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. All K. Tanimura wanted to do was clean the carpets at the Hotel Angelus at 407-411 S. Spring St. The sweeper, however, was broken so he sought help from the hotel’s carpenter, … Continue reading

Posted in Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Homicide, LAPD, Streetcars | 3 Comments

May 9, 1907: Shriners Present a Colorful Array

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. What, you might ask yourself, did Shriners do before the advent of those little cars and Harley-Davidson Electra Glides? The elaborately costumed men staged precision, close-order drills accompanied by marching bands. The … Continue reading

Posted in 1907, Black Dahlia, LAPD, Streetcars | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

May 5, 1907: The Shriners Ban Water Except for Bathing

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. Singing loud praises to Allah that strike a curious note in 2006, the special train of Shriners is flying across the Nevada desert brimming with Freemasons and their families pondering the ancient … Continue reading

Posted in 1907, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, LAPD, Streetcars | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Black Dahlia: Elizabeth Short Was Last Seen Alive at — Record Scratch

Wow. Sorry, Uproxx, this is totally wrong. Elizabeth Short was last seen alive at — before you say the Hotel Cecil —  she was last seen alive at the Biltmore.

Posted in 1947, Architecture, Black Dahlia, Cold Cases, Food and Drink, Hollywood, LAPD | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Time Clock

Posted in 1907, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Film, LAPD, Streetcars | Tagged , | Leave a comment

May 1, 1907: Runaway Horses and a Fleeing Motorcyclist on the Dangerous Streets of L.A.

Motorcycle Hits Her Miss Gertrude Young, who lives at No. 525 Wall St., was knocked down by a motorcycle yesterday as she stepped from a streetcar at 7th and Hope streets. The rider of the machine hastened away. Miss Young … Continue reading

Posted in 1907, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, City Hall, Education, LAPD, Streetcars | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Black Dahlia: Blogging ‘Black Dahlia Files’ Part 89 — The Two-Minute Executive Summary

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. From Feb. 3, 2006, to April 28, 2006, I devoted a daily blog to Donald H. Wolfe’s “The Black Dahlia Files: The Mob, the Mogul and the Murder That Transfixed Los Angeles.” … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, 2006, Another Good Story Ruined, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Donald Wolfe, History, Hollywood, Homicide, LAPD | Tagged , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

April 29, 1907: Blanche Hall Draws Crowds to Burbank Theater in ‘When Knighthood Was in Flower’

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. Los Angeles theatergoers are transfixed by the new production of “When Knighthood Was in Flower,” Paul Kester’s adaptation of Charles Major’s 1898 novel, forming a mile-long line to buy tickets at Morosco’s … Continue reading

Posted in 1907, 1910, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, LAPD, Streetcars, Theaters | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment