Category Archives: Cold Cases

Nov. 15, 1981: Still Unsolved — Aspiring Screenwriter Killed in Hit-Run Staged to Look Like Rape

  Note: This is an encore post from 2005 and originally appeared on the 1947project. Sue was 29, tall, blond and athletic with dimples every time she smiled—her big, clunky glasses the only thing that might betray a degree in … Continue reading

Posted in 1981, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Film, Hollywood, Sports, Transportation | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

Nov. 10, 1947: Remains of Kidnapped Girl Found in Orange County Ravine

Note: This is an encore post from 2005 and originally appeared on the 1947project. Bits of clothing found with a child’s skeleton in a small ravine in Orange County yesterday were identified as belonging to 6-year-old Rochelle Gluskoter, who was … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Homicide | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

Black Dahlia: 1949 Letter Proves Nothing About Dr. George Hodel

Sorry, no. If you are familiar with Steve Hodel’s elevator pitch (“retired LAPD homicide cop discovers evil genius dad was maniacal serial killer”) you can skip all of this in the South Pasadenan. It’s more of the same old exaggerated … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, LAPD | Tagged , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Oct. 5, 1947: Santa Monica Police Link Killing of Teenage Girl to Earlier Stabbing of Teenage Girl

Note: This is an encore post from 2005 and originally appeared on the 1947project. It was a response to Kim Cooper’s post on the stabbings of Lillian Dominguez and Barbara Jean Morse. I’m really glad you picked this one, Kim, … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Homicide | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Feb. 29, 1932: Body Found in Closet of Vacant Home

Note: This is an encore post from 2005 and originally appeared on the 1947project. Nailed up in the closet of an unoccupied house at 2318 Pontius Ave.., West Los Angeles, the body of Tomas Moreno, 43-year-old Japanese, was discovered yesterday … Continue reading

Posted in 1932, Cold Cases, Comics, Crime and Courts, Homicide | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Brian De Palma’s ‘The Black Dahlia’

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. Further note: Rotten Tomatoes, gives this film 32% on the Tomatometer. “The Black Dahlia,” directed by Brian De Palma, screenplay by Josh Friedman based on the novel by James Ellroy. Starring Josh … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Film, Hollywood, Homicide, LAPD, Zoot Suit | Tagged , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Black Dahlia: EBay Avenger

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. OK, I’ve had my fun with Ellroy’s copies of the “Avenger” books. The hardback stands at $38 and the paperback at $29. Despite my minimum bids, there is always the risk that … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Homicide, LAPD, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

James Ellroy: ‘Don’t Anybody Say the Name Steve Hodel’

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. An incredibly curious thing happened yesterday. I’ve been taping segments for an “America’s Most Wanted” episode on the Black Dahlia and the producer called to see if they could get some shots … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Homicide, LAPD, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | 5 Comments

Black Dahlia: Steve Hodel, James Ellroy and EBay: Outbid!

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. Gosh, I upped my bid on James Ellroy’s copies of “Black Dahlia Avenger” (the hardback and paperback) but was outbid. Darn. I’m going to do my best to get them over $25, … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Homicide, LAPD, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Black Dahlia: More Steve Hodel, James Ellroy and EBay

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. I couldn’t stand the thought of James Ellroy’s copies of “Black Dahlia Avenger” going for so little on EBay. After all, don’t people know the book has been optioned by New Line … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Homicide, LAPD, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Black Dahlia Avenger: From Steve Hodel to James Ellroy to EBay

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. My goodness, one never knows what will turn up on Ebay. This morning I found a copy of “Black Dahlia Avenger” inscribed by Steve Hodel to James Ellroy, who wrote the introduction … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Homicide, LAPD, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Aug. 29, 1947: Headless Skeleton Found in Burlap Sack in Chantry Flats

Note: This is an encore post from 2005 and originally appeared on the 1947project. The discovery by camper John Beener of 3743 E. 7th St. only became more puzzling. Investigation revealed that the deceased, an elderly woman about 5-foot-2, had … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Aug. 11, 1947: Two Men Found Shot to Death in Bizarre Mystery

Note: This is an encore post from 2005 and originally appeared on the 1947project. Someone found them shot to death on the floor of the Portal Motel at 2775 N. Cahuenga: two men completely clothed except for their shoes, each … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Cold Cases, Homicide, LAPD | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Black Dahlia: Who Is This Man?

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. I recently obtained an original copy of The Times’ March 28, 1971, story “Farewell, My Black Dahlia,” which includes the account of the “Boy on the Bicycle.” Here’s a color picture of … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Another Good Story Ruined, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Donald Wolfe, Homicide, LAPD | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

Shout Out

Note: This is an encore post from 2006. General Motors [ISP Redacted] Windows 2000? Upgrade! The Netherlands [ISP Redacted] E! Entertainment [ISP Redacted] “E! Mysteries and Scandals,” my first TV interview, by the guy who did “Real Chases of the … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, 2006, Another Good Story Ruined, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Donald Wolfe, History, Hollywood, Homicide, LAPD, Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Black Dahlia: A Note to Fans of Piu Eatwell’s ‘Black Dahlia, Red Rose’

Dear fans of Piu Eatwell’s “Black Dahlia, Red Rose” (I know there’s at least a few of you because you write to me): Leslie Dillon was absolutely, positively in San Francisco when Elizabeth Short was killed. Nothing else matters. Not … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Books and Authors, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Black Dahlia: ‘We Got Our Asses Handed to Us’

Here’s a follow-up on Episode 5 of “It Was Him.” Wayne Wolfe Jr. sums up my interview on John Cameron’s theory about Ed Edwards and the Black Dahlia case.

Posted in 1947, 2018, Black Dahlia, Cold Cases, Crime and Courts, Television | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Black Dahlia: ‘It Was Him’ and Edward Wayne Edwards — No Way

Before you watch Episode 5 of “It Was Him,” (airing Monday at 9 p.m. on Paramount Net), which attempts to link Edward Wayne Edwards to the Black Dahlia case… Keep in mind: Edward Wayne Edwards was born June 14, 1933. … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, 2018, Black Dahlia, Cold Cases, Coming Attractions, Crime and Courts, Homicide, Television | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

May 12, 1947: Laura Trelstad Raped, Strangled, Left in Long Beach Oil Field

Note: This is one of my first posts – as a comment – on the 1947Project. An encore from 2005. This is a reply to Mother of Three Choked to Death; Body Flung in Signal Hill Oil Field. This is, … Continue reading

Posted in 1947, Black Dahlia, Cold Cases, Homicide, LAPD | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Black Dahlia: Elizabeth Short Was Last Seen Alive at — Record Scratch

Wow. Sorry, Uproxx, this is totally wrong. Elizabeth Short was last seen alive at — before you say the Hotel Cecil —  she was last seen alive at the Biltmore.

Posted in 1947, Architecture, Black Dahlia, Cold Cases, Food and Drink, Hollywood, LAPD | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment