April 14, 1958


Above, the Dodgers get a champagne welcome from Lawrence Welk at the Aragon Ballroom. Below, can it really be 50 years since Van Cliburn won the Tchaikovsky piano competition?  And in case you’re wondering: Liu Shi-kun and Lev Vlasenko tied for second place. Daniel Pollack of Los Angeles was awarded eighth place … Mary Livingston is just fine, by the way….


Email me

About lmharnisch

I am retired from the Los Angeles Times
This entry was posted in broadcasting, classical music, Dodgers, Front Pages, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply. Note: Your IP is logged with your comment so a fake name and email address are useless.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.